Search:
Phone: 720.747.3883
Fax: 720.747.3895 (Main Off.) | 720.747.3466 (Records)
Attendance: 720.747.3896

12400 East Jewell Avenue
Aurora, CO 80012

​​English Department | 2017–2018


The language arts department will produce leaders who can utilize reading, writing, and critical thinking to effectively navigate the requirement of a global society.

Create contagious, encouraging and innovative learning opportunities where students become competitive, articulate, highly literate critical thinkers equipped to contribute and succeed in a 21st century.


Name ​Phone ​Email
Anita Pizzo, coordinator ​720.747.3776
​Mark Bishop720.747.mbishop8@cherrycreekschools.org
​Danny Barocas ​720.747.3843 dbarocas2@cherrycreekschools.org
​Kate Carmody ​720.747.3773 ccarmody@cherrycreekschools.org
Mitchell Carnahan​720.747.3775mcarnahan@cherrycreekschools.org
Shannon Gallagher720.747.3596csgallagher6@cherrycreekschools.org
​Kendall Gregory McGhee
​720.747.3641kgregorymcghee@cherrycreekschools.org
​Nicci Guagliardo ​720.747.3755 nguagliardo@cherrycreekschools.org
​Steve Helfant ​720.747.3870 shelfant@cherrycreekschools.org
​Jeni Korth ​720.747.3869 ​jmccoy8@cherrycreekschools.org
​Kelly Landen ​720.747.3781 klanden@cherrycreekschools.org
​Julie Pattersonjpatterson23@cherrycreekschools.org
​Mike Pineda ​720.747.3777 mpineda2@cherrycreekschools.org
​Adrienne Razavi
​720.747.3725 ​arazavi@cherrycreekschools.org
​Tim Reyes ​720.747.3774 treyes@cherrycreekschools.org
​Sheryl Rodriguez ​720.747.3856 srodriguez12@cherrycreekschools.org
​Andy Sense ​720.747.3465 asense@cherrycreekschools.org
​Laura Sudik-Varble ​720.747.3845 lsudik@cherrycreekschools.org
​Craig Wietgrefe ​720.747.3758 ​cwietgrefe@cherrycreekschools.org


Click ​for an alphabetical list of all Overland faculty & staff.

 Department Clubs

Literary Magazine

This year we will publish our sixth issue of our literary magazine. The magazine is designed to be an avenue of expression for students from Overland: what excites and angers them, what they really talk about, and what issues they face on a day-to-day basis. We accept poetry, short stories (max. 2 pages), essays, photography, paintings, or sketches.

Newspaper

Interested in writing, reporting, page design, art, photography, and web page? Do you have opinions you want to be heard? Do you want to make a difference? Apply to be a part of the newspaper staff. Help produce Overland's award-winning, full-color news magazine, The Overland Scout. Share your opinions, report on school events, write about athletic and performing arts events, and review new releases in the media and plays at Overland. For more information or to contact the Scout, go to overlandscout.org or email us at OverlandScout@gmail.com

Speech & Debate

Speech and Debate is a club and a class! If you love to talk and debate various topics of interest, or are perhaps an aspiring comedian, then this is the club for you. Debaters give speeches on myriad topics, and compete against debaters from other high schools at the district, state, regional, and even national level! An invitation to the national competition is each member's ultimate goal.

Yearbook

Overland High School's annual yearbook is consistently one of the best in the state. Yearbook may be taken as a year-long, general elective English credit. Yearbook Production involves writing and associated skills, graphic design, photography, and business skills. All e​nrolled students must be willing to work in all of the above areas. Because of deadline restrictions, students must be willing and able to devote time to this project outside of school and to accept responsibility for the completion of the yearbook.
Copyright © Cherry Creek School District #5, 4700 S. Yosemite Street, Greenwood Village, CO 80111 | 303-773-1184
Cherry Creek School District No. 5 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability in admission to its programs, services or activities, in access to them, in treatment of individuals, or in any aspect of their operations. The lack of English language skills shall not be a barrier to admission or participation in the district’s activities and programs. The Cherry Creek School District No. 5 also does not discriminate in its hiring or employment practices. This notice is provided as required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Questions, complaints, or requests for additional information regarding these laws may be forwarded to the designated compliance officer: District Compliance Officer or directly to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Region VIII, Federal Office Building 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite #310, Denver, CO 80204.

You are now leaving the Cherry Creek School District (CCSD) portal. Please note that CCSD does not control nor can it guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, completeness, or appropriateness of any content contained on web sites and/or pages outside of the official CCSD portal. The information or opinions contained on these web sites and/or pages do not necessarily represent the views of the CCSD.

With access to the internet comes the availability of material that may not be of educational value or appropriate for students. While at school, CCSD has taken precautions to restrict access to inappropriate or harmful web sites. However, on the internet it is impossible to control all materials and limit all access to information that has no educational value. CCSD firmly believes that the valuable information and the interaction available on the internet far outweigh the possibility that users may procure material that is not consistent with the educational goals of CCSD.